End of March species

This is where you can find the Pier fishing reports, Pier photos of those huge fish, and other information. This is a beautiful place to walk along the Pier and shoot memory photos of the Pier and Navarre Beach. Bring your camera and post your Pier photos here!
greendrake

Sat Mar 08, 2014 2:58 pm

Greetings,
I will be at the Navarre pier and beach the last week in March. I would love to know what species to target this time of year and any specific rigs, baits,jigs, lures etc. I am a saltwater rookie although I have fished the pier once before.

Thank you for your time.
PensacolaKid
Power User
Power User

Mon Mar 10, 2014 10:40 am

Greendrake,

I am envious of your fishing expedition. To answer your question, it all depends on what the weather and temperature do over the coming couple of weeks but based on this winter and no significant warming in the next two weeks....at least not enough to make that much difference, your best bet might be to wade the grass flats over on the Sound....Spec's, Trout and maybe a Flounder or two.

As for the Gulf side...you may be able to grab a Spanish or perhaps even some Pompano may be running. There is always something you can grab. Check out the fishing thread and also, when you get down there, go to Half Hitch Bait & Tackle and let them help you.

In the Sound...topwaters very early in the a.m. then soft plastics. 1/8 to 1/4 oz. jig head.
PensacolaKid
Power User
Power User

Tue Mar 11, 2014 9:02 am